Gallery

UFO Sighting!

One of my biggest challenges is completing projects. Like my mother, I tend to start projects and rarely finish them. While it keeps my interests and excitement for crafting alive, it is also overwhelming having an ever-growing “to do” list.

Over the past year or so I have made a very conscious effort to A- complete the new projects I start and 2- finish the “UFO’s” (UnFinished Objects) that have been YEARS in the making.

Currently, I am about two weeks into a month long visit to my parents in AZ. Before making the trip I set a goal to finishing up some of those UFO’s. The projects I set out to finish are (in priority order):

  1. T-shirt Quilt for my younger (not so little) brother, Eddie. I started this almost 8 years ago using t-shirts he wore in high school.
  2. Subway Art Wood Transfer project. This was supposed to be a Christmas 2013 present for my dad and then evolved into an Aug 15 birthday present. Still a UFO at this time
  3. Upholstered Headboard. This is another project for my brother. He took my bed a few years ago, I stole the headboard to redo.
  4. UA T-shirt Quilt. SInce this is a UFO for myself, it’s lowest on the priority list. As you can probably guess, I went through a phase of making t-shirt quilts. I will be happy to have them done.

I have made the most progress on finishing the T-shirt quilt for my brother.  While I did plan out how I wanted to quilt this one, I have greatly underestimated how long it would take.  You can see my progress below:

IMG_20140813_231645

Laying it out to fix the backing and batting

IMG-20140814-WA0018

My mother’s machine from the 1980’s. I learned to sew on this machine

IMG-20140819-WA0002

No free motion foot for this guy

IMG-20140816-WA0004

Quarter inch spacing. Love the texture. Despise how long it takes.

3 thoughts on “UFO Sighting!

Leave a Reply

