Gallery

Shirt off my back

A few weeks ago I talked about one of the “UFO” projects I was trying to finish before leaving my parent’s house in Arizona.

Sadly I was not able to finish my brother’s t-shirt quilt.  Fortunately it was much easier to pack into my suitcase than a wood subway art sign or headboard.

I have since finished the quilt for my brother that was started almost 10 years ago.

Full-size bed quilt, slightly small for a Queen size bed

Full-size bed quilt, slightly small for a Queen size bed

Finished T-Shirt Quilt

Finished T-Shirt Quilt

Back side of quilt

Back side of quilt

When it came to the actual quilting, I wanted something that was a bit more masculine and modern to balance the sentimental feel of a t-shirt quilt.

IMG_1609

IMG_1608I decided to do a tight zig-zag stitch along the sections where the different directions of quilting met up.  This was to reinforce the start point of the lines and to cover the not-so-straight beginnings.

Front center detail

Front center detail

Zig-zag stitching on "joints"

Zig-zag stitching on “joints”

Zig-zag stitching on "joints"

Zig-zag stitching on “joints”

Zig-zag stitching on "joints"

Zig-zag stitching on “joints”

Detail close-up of back quilting

Detail close-up of back quilting

IMG_1606

Khaki colored thread to blend and give great texture effect

When it came to binding the quilt, I opted for the quick and dirty method.  I made a bias tape with the remaining khaki fabric used for the front sashing and backing. I then proceeded to machine sew it to the front and back side.

Since this is a quilt for my younger brother and will most likely be used as a couch quilt or “guest bed” (aka futon) blanket, I figured I could get away with an easier binding method.  I am not the best at this technique, but I wanted to get the quilt done and off my “UFO” list.

Machine sewn binding

Machine sewn binding

Overall I’m pretty happy with how it came out.

IMG_1611

There is a college t-shirt quilt that is a work-in-progress (WIP) for myself.  I will make sure to post more on the construction part of it in the upcoming weeks.

2 thoughts on “Shirt off my back

Leave a Reply

