Cut to Pieces

So I wanted to start a weekly Thursday Trimmings Link-up party BUT because I am not (yet) on a self-hosted WordPress site I cannot do it. <<Insert frustrated growl here>>

I am determined to make it happen one day.

The only real productive quilting related thing I have accomplished in the last week is cutting into my selections for the Midnight Mystery QAL hosted by Meadow Mist Designs.
Meadow Mist Designs Mystery Quilt
Instructions were released on Thursday July 2 and I got to ironing and cutting my fabrics on Friday afternoon.

Pre-ironing

Pre-ironing

The print comes from a fat-quarter bundle of the 2011 Palmer Collection by Anna Griffin.

Fabric A selection from 2011 Palmer Collection by Anna Griffin

Fabric A selection from 2011 Palmer Collection by Anna Griffin

The final color was cut on Sunday morning and has been stashed away until next month. I have also saved my scraps and plan on using them in the backing.

Fabric cut and ready for the next step

Fabric cut and ready for the next step

Packed away until August  6

Packed away until August 6

I am also debating joining the Yuma QAL hosted by Gotham Quilts.

http://gothamquilts.com/category/yuma-qal/

The QAL and  blog hop started last month and runs until August. I think it would be a good pattern to use a few random fabrics and my fq bundles of Sardinia by Jessica Swift for Blend.

Yuma QAL Fabric Selection: Sardinia by Jessica Swift for Blend

Yuma QAL Fabric Selection: Sardinia by Jessica Swift for Blend

I’ve been struggling to find a project for these fabrics for awhile and when I saw the Yuma pattern, this set was the first thing that popped into my mind.  Just trying to decide on the fabric placement before cutting into these ladies.

What have you been cutting into this week?

5 thoughts on “Cut to Pieces

  1. You can still host a link party on wordpress.com, you just won’t be able to embed javascript into your post to show the link ups within your blog post. Instead, you will have to have an obvious link that will take people to your link up site to link up and view others who have linked up. Confusing as mud? Anyway, if you are really itching to give it a go, it can be done. 🙂

    Like

    • I understand what you are saying about having an external link for readers to go to; however, I am a fan of KISS (keep it simple stupid). Personally, I would not participate in such a link-up needing to go back and forth from the blog to the link-up site.

      The deeper I get into the blogging process and technical aspects, the more value I see in having a self-hosted site. Being able to host a weekly link-up is just one more item for “pro” column. I just need to get the courage to pull the trigger and actually register and transition the blog. Perhaps a good discussion topic for the New Quilt Blogger group?

      Like

  2. I agree with Carrie that a discussion for transitioning your blog would be a great topic for New Quilt Blogger group. I started my blog for free on blogger to see if I would enjoy blogging and ended up purchasing my domain name in case I ever wanted to use it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

