Oh Scrap! How to join batting and reduce bulk

A few weeks ago during my 2015 New Quilter Blog Hop, I mentioned one of my favorite quilting tips about joining scrap pieces of batting. Today I am here to share more in-depth tutorial on how to do so.

Before I get to the nitty gritty, I encourage you to visit my fellow hive bloggers from last week and this week.  Also make sure to visit our hive “queen bee” to enter into the fabulous giveaways.
New Blogger Series

Week 3 Bloggers
Julie @Pink Doxies
Carrie W @The Zen Quilter
Lori @Sew Psyched
Cindy @Sewing Moxie

Week 4 Bloggers
Margo@Shadowlane Quilts and Crafts
Josi@Avocado Quilts
Deb @The Farmhouse Quilter
Emma @My Handmade Journey

Hive “Queen Bee”:
Stephanie @Late Night Quilter

Now for the main attraction:

How to Join Batting Scraps

When making larger quilts, I typically use a whole, new piece of batting but am often left with sizeable scraps that (when joined together) are perfect for smaller projects such as baby quilts.

Batting piece too small for pillow sham cover

Batting piece too small for pillow sham

Typically I only join two pieces of batting, but I have joined up to four pieces using the following method.

1: Make sure that the pieces of scrap batting you are joining are of the same material and loft. When storing my scraps, I fold the pieces into each other to keep like batting together.

2: Lay the batting pieces you are thinking of using so that there is overlap between the pieces of 3-4 inches.

Overlap Scraps by 3 or 4 inches

Overlap Scraps by 3 or 4 inches

When I first started quilting, I would stop at this step, baste and quilt. I was never happy as there would be part of the quilt that was thicker due to the double layer.

3: (Secret step) Cut through both layers of overlapped batting in a gentle wave pattern. I typically eyeball it but you can mark if so desired.

Cut through both layers in a wave

Cut through both layers in a wave

4: Remove the excess pieces of batting from the two halves. You will be left with two pieces of batting that butt up to each other flush in the curves.

Remove excess side pieces

Remove excess side pieces

5: Join the batting pieces using a loose whipstitch. This is just to hold them together temporarily while basting and quilting. You don’t want a tight stitch as this will form a ridge on the seam.

Loose whipstitch to hold the two adjoining pieces at the seam

Loose whipstitch to hold the two adjoining pieces at the seam

Joined pieces ready for basting

Joined pieces ready for basting

6: Baste and quilt as normal.

Basted and ready for quilting

Basted and ready for quilting

7: Enjoy your finished project without all the excess batting bulk. Secretly revel in your thriftiness and no one being the wiser!

Finished Pillow Sham

Finished Pillow Sham

Thanks for stopping by!

Carrie @ Chopping Block Quilts

Linking up to:
New Blogger Series

9 thoughts on “Oh Scrap! How to join batting and reduce bulk

    • I’ve always been afraid of sewing batting without the protective layers of a quilt top and backing. The whipstitch is a pretty quick way to join them (although not quite as fast as sewing by machine).

      Thanks for stopping by Yvonne!

      Carrie Bawolek cbawolek@gmail.com CR: +506.8338.2614 USA: +1.480.540.7282

      On Tue, Jul 21, 2015 at 11:14 PM, Chopping Block Quilts wrote:

      >

      Like

    • JanineMarie-

      You’re welcome on the reminder. I was so clueless for many years and that wave cut totally changed my (quilting) life!

      Thanks to your binding tutorial I now have another (quilting) life changing technique. I tried that method before but with a 2.5in binding but always had difficulty catching it on the reverse side. Never did it occur to me to make a wider binding strip. I can’t wait to try this out!

      Carrie Bawolek Chopping Block Quilts

      On Wed, Jul 22, 2015 at 6:37 PM, Chopping Block Quilts wrote:

      >

      Like

    • Wendy-

      Thanks for stopping by. I hope you try to join batting using this method on one of your WIP’s.

      Carrie

      Carrie Bawolek cbawolek@gmail.com CR: +506.8338.2614 USA: +1.480.540.7282

      On Thu, Jul 23, 2015 at 10:10 AM, Chopping Block Quilts wrote:

      >

      Like

Leave a Reply

