More About Me

My name is Carrie. I am from Arizona and currently living in Costa Rica.

I started quilting when I was 17 years old. I learned to quilt from one of my mother’s co-workers named Ken. He offered to teach some of his fellow teachers the basics of quilting. My mom knew I was interested in learning and got me into his class.  I started out using my mother’s Singer machine from the 1970’s that she sewed her own wedding dress on (which I wore 34 years later to my own wedding).

That first quilting lesson was a disaster that literally brought me to tears. I was a beginner in every sense of the word. The biggest mistake I made in that first lesson was forgetting to put my presser foot down (a problem that I still to have to this day).

After I was shown how to correct my simple mistake, I fell in love with quilting.

Aside from those first few lessons, I have been mostly self-taught with guidance from online classes, friends, their mothers, co-workers, and blogging community tutorials. Throughout my early 20’s my quilting was quite sporadic and it has only been in the last few years that I have focused on completing projects on a regular and (somewhat) timely basis.

Although I intend for this to be a quilting blog, you will see projects of my other hobbies (crochet & cooking) as well.  And be aware, my instagram feed tends to be filled with photos of our two puppies, Berna and Dora.

Berna the Boxer and Dora the Zaguate

Berna the Boxer and Dora the Zaguate

 

Advertisements

One thought on “More About Me

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s