Gallery

Finished Farm Fresh #3

After taking lots of feedback from family, friends and blog readers into consideration I finally decided on a design for my Farm Fresh baby quilt #3.

Winner: #6 Off-set Diamond

Winner: #6 Off-set Diamond

Close-up of stitch in the ditch & straight line quilting

Close-up of stitch in the ditch & straight line quilting

To make sure everything was pieced correctly (avoiding my mistake from the previous layout) I used the half wall outside my craft room to layout the rows while sewing them together.

Piecing the rows together

Piecing the rows together

The back was pieced together with a braided herringbone strip made from scraps from my previous Farm Fresh quilts.

Braided Herringbone pieced from scraps

Braided Herringbone pieced from scraps

Personally, I like quilts with a reversible backing that is as interesting, thoughtfully laid out, and beautiful as the front.

Herringbone Backing

Herringbone Backing

The binding was mainly denim, with a few scraps from the herringbone backing thrown in as well.  I know I cheated by machine sewing the binding, but my goal was to get this project done and have it nicely secured.

Scrappy Binding

Scrappy Binding

The denim softened up and faded nicely after being washed and thankfully the indigo dye did not run.

Cozy and ready for a new home

Cozy and ready for a new home

Finished size ended up at 48in x 33in.

Despite taking apart the quilt top, this was one of the quickest quilts I have completed.  I even managed to make an extra gift with dad in mind.

It’s great motivation to finish up my other WIP, the “What the Hex” quilt that I’ve been working on for about 10 months now, and to start on the rest of my “To Do” list for the year.

Linking up to:
Michelle’s Romantic Tangle
Fabric Frenzy Friday #64

6 thoughts on “Finished Farm Fresh #3

Leave a comment